Grounding your station

Home Forums Technical Questions and Answers Grounding your station

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  KK6ZDB 1 year, 5 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

KM6BYD
    Participant

I am new to ham radio, just passed the Tech and General tests. I am setting up my station. Initially, I will have a HT and a mobile rig that I can use at home partly as a cross band repeater for the HT. I have been reading a lot. I am recently retired and have an EE background so I know enough to be dangerous. Most people I have read recommend that you put in an 8 foot ground rod and connect all your devices (radios, power supplies, tuners, etc) to a copper pipe that is connected to the ground rod, all your antennas through lightning arrestors, and the ground rod is tied to your house power ground rod. I wonder if it is really needed here where lightning is such a rare occurrence. What do you use for grounding for your shack? What would you suggest be done for mine?

kz6t

My HF radios get grounded to a bus that is tied to 1/2″ wide flat copper braided strap that is tied to a ground rod. (Due to soil conditions I could only go down 4 feet.) I don’t have any lightning protection other than disconnecting everything when the odd storm comes rolling in.

Talk to Joe K6AWA. He gave a very informative talk on grounding a few months ago.

73 … Charlie

KK6ZDB